This article I found in http://www.bbc.co.uk/ and it is about Facebook, which introduced a number of new features aimed at putting users in control of their information, but it seems that despite their best intentions the social networking giant has erred over its groups feature.

The aim of the new groups product is to allow people to map online how they live in the real world with discreet groups or cliques – be it a family group, a book group, a work group or whatever. So, according to Facebook founder, the whole idea was to let people share things they wouldn’t have wanted to share with all their friends. Facebook made the decision to allow group members to add others to the group in order to make the product simple, and because it resembles something we all understand: adding one of your contacts to an email thread. Similar to the controls in place for photo tagging, you can remove yourself from a group at anytime. If you remove yourself from a group, you can’t be added back by a member. The problem of course for a number of people is that some of those “friends” on Facebook are not “friends” in real life because a lot of users connect to others for business or professional reasons. Of course the solution is an easy fix for Facebook and one that will earn them goodwill and show they are being responsive to the needs of users.

I choose this article, because I think nowadays Facebook is quite important, because almost all people use Facebook. There are about 500 million people using Facebook, 50% of them everyday according to Facebook. So like it or not but these are the things people are using so not to represent it is pretty impossible. I found this article interesting, because it is not the first time, when they made new groups product and because it shows that more and more users suffer loss of privacy and control over their data, it cannot be long now before the inevitable backlash will see Facebook change to become a vehicle for commercial users only. I am not very satisfied that anyone in a group can add anyone to some kind of group, but the person that was added wasn’t asked if he wants to be added. I think everyone has something, that he doesn’t want to say to all his friends or there are a lot of things you only want to share, for example, with your room mates or parents. So at the end, I think that the community owner could decide whether the community was public, private (but listed) or hidden (private and unlisted). ThEy can also decide whether people can simply join, request to join, have to be invited or if they really think to give users more control, then they have to give people the opportunity to refuse to a request to being added to a group.

Advertisements